Skip to Main Navigation

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences - The University of Texas at Dallas

Susan Jerger

Susan Jerger

Professor Emeritus

Emeritus

PhD, Baylor College of Medicine

Multimodal Speech Processing, Lexical Development in Children with Normal Hearing or Hearing Loss

GR 4.116

972-883-2268 phone

sjerger@utdallas.edu email

Children's Speech Processing Lab website

About Susan Jerger

My primary academic position as of September, 1997, is Ashbel Smith Professor, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, University of Texas at Dallas. I am also a Research Professor, Department of Otolaryngology-HNS, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri. Previously I served as a Professor, Department of Otolaryngology and Communicative Sciences, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston; as an Adjunct Professor, Department of Psychology, Rice University, Houston; as an Affiliated Professor, Center for Human Development Research, School of Medicine, University of Texas-Houston; and as an external faculty member, University of Hong Kong. My long-term research interest concerns the influence of childhood hearing impairment (HI) on development of the auditory, phonological, and semantic knowledge supporting spoken word recognition. My current research, which applies a newly developed picture naming-auditory word distractor task, is studying the nature of phonological and semantic representations, and the time course of their activation, during word processing by typically developing children and children with HI. We hypothesize that HI degrades and filters auditory input, impairing the registration of some childhood experiences in semantic memory and phonological memory. This results in 1) less well-specified phonological representation, 2) less rich semantic categorical knowledge, and 3) slower and less efficient processing. Understanding the dynamics of the speech processing system in children should lead to improved intervention strategies, exp