Professor

PhD, Brown University

Speech Science and Neurolinguistics

CA A122

214-905-3188 phone

wkatz@utdallas.edu email

Personal Website website

About William Katz

I am a professor in the University of Texas at Dallas' School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences. After receiving my Ph.D. in linguistics from Brown University (1987), I spent four years as a post-doctorate fellow at the University of California San Diego. I have also served as a visiting scientist at the Universities of Goettingen and Konstanz, Germany.

My research interests focus on how humans represent and use speech and language. I approach this topic within the theoretical framework of neurolinguistics: a discipline concerned with how the brain represents language, how this process develops throughout life, and how it is affected by disease. Within the discipline of neurolinguistics, I have concentrated on phonology (sound systems and rules) and phonetics (the nature of speech sounds). An important method for understanding the phonology/phonetics of language is to study the speech of subjects whose linguistic systems are impaired as the result of brain injury. These subjects may serve as experiments in nature in that their impaired linguistic systems often fractionate in highly specific ways, revealing underlying patterns of language structure and processing.